ThreadOption.UserInterface not working

Topics: CAB & Smart Client Software Factory
Apr 7, 2007 at 9:47 PM
Edited Apr 7, 2007 at 9:50 PM
I have what I think is a simple use of the CAB EventTopic publish and subscribe, but it is not working properly.
I have one module that starts a new thread which polls for some data. When it arrives it fires a global event topic. In my other module, which contains a number of views that will be updated based on this data arriving, I have an event topic subscription, and it specifies that it wants to be on the UI thread. Should be this simple, I thought... But the handler is actually being called right on the same thread that fired the event. And so my attempts to update the UI end in Exceptions (Cross-thread operation not valid) indicating I can’t do it on that thread... I have log messages that prove this is the case, and I’ve single stepped through the code and it never switches threads...

Any clues would be greatly appreciated.

Here is how I fire the event in the first module:
                        EventArgs<Msg> ev = new EventArgs<Msg>(messageEnvelope);
                        workItem.EventTopics[EventTopicNames.MessageArrived].Fire(
                            this,
                            ev,
                            workItem,
                            PublicationScope.Global);
                        }
Here is how I subscribe to the event topic in my UI Module’s ModuleController class...
        [EventSubscription(EventTopicNames.MessageArrived, ThreadOption.UserInterface)]

public void OnMsgReceived(object sender, EventArgs<Msg> ev)
        {
            Msg theMessage = ev.Data;
            if (theMessage.TransactionCode == 321)
            {
                MessageBox.Show("Got a 321 Dispatch message! Time to process it...");
                try
                {
                    myKeyDispatchInfoView.DisplayText = theMessage.msgText;
                }
                catch (Exception e)
                {