How to add control to view

Topics: Mobile Client Software Factory
Apr 5, 2007 at 12:29 PM
Hi,

I am new to the CAB framework and am still trying to figure it out.
My first problem is, how to get a user control, which derives from the OrientationAwareControl but drag and drop doesn't work, and the examples i've seen all do it in a slightly different way.

thanks,

Manuel Silva
Apr 5, 2007 at 2:55 PM
Manuel,

More information is required. In CAB, UserControls are views. So the only dragging and dropping you should be doing is to drag a component onto a UserControl. If your UserControl inherits from another type of Control then that is all you need to do.

So, there's probably something I'm missing here. Throw some more information my way and maybe I can help :-)
Apr 5, 2007 at 3:24 PM
this is my view:

public partial class TestModuleView : Form, ITestModuleView
{
public TestModuleView()
{
InitializeComponent();
}

}

and i have a usercontrol:

public partial class TestModuleControl : OrientationAwareControl
{
public TestModuleControl()
{
InitializeComponent();
}
}

which i would like to use in the view. there is an example, i think it's in HOL4 were u create a usercontrol and put it in a view, but... it doesn't tell u how it's put in the view.

thanks
Apr 5, 2007 at 4:54 PM
Manuel,

You cannot use Forms with CAB. Your TestModuleView is inheriting from the wrong base class. It needs to inherit from UserControl. The CAB framework is designed to use UserControls as views, and those get shown in Workspaces (there are many types).

I would suggest downloading the Smart Client Software Factory (SCSF) and taking a look at some of the documentation for CAB so you get a better idea of how things fit together.

If you need a starter application, I can probably provide you with one.

Apr 5, 2007 at 5:16 PM
I need one badly.

The thing is the Add View with Presenter recipe creates a form! not a user control. I am so lost with this!!!