Auto-restarting application

Topics: Updater Application Block
Feb 9, 2005 at 6:46 AM
originally posted by: YesRocker

In the last release of the 2.0 block (the original "Feature Complete" block), there was the capability to easily restart an app after it had updated itself. That feature seems to be missing from this latest release. Instead of downloading the updates and then notifying the user that they will have their app restarted, it seems to wait for the user to exit and restart the app themselves. Any reason for this drastic change, or am I just missing something? Also - if this feature were resurrected, it would be nice to have in addition to asking the user if they want to restart, the ability to FORCE the user to restar their application. The potential side-effects of an out-of-sync client with the changes that might have happened on the server could be a real mess...