Calling the AppraisalManagementService Web Srvice

Topics: CAB & Smart Client Software Factory
Apr 26, 2006 at 12:52 PM
originally posted by: optimism99

I am looking at the AppraisorWorkbench sample project. I want to call the AppraisalManagementService Web Service.

(I am new to the Smat client BAT)

I am curious, when I call the methods of the AppraisalManagementService web service, where do I call them from ??

After looking through the documentation I see two possible places to call the web service and it's methods.

The possibly places to make the call are from the :

AppraisalDetailViewPresenter class

Or the :

AppraisalDetailView

So of those two where should the call be made.

Second question. In general if I want to make the call to the web service, from another C# file, should I just plan on wiring up the WorkingAppraisalSelectedHandler (Event Handler)

I would deeply appreciate someones help. As I mentioned, I am new to the SMART Client BAT toolkit. So many things are fuzzy right now.

Thanks in advance,
Will
Apr 26, 2006 at 5:56 PM
originally posted by: matiaswoloski

The pattern used in SCBAT is the MVP (Model View Presenter). The webservices are being called from the presenter. You can call services from the view, you don't have any constraint regarding that, however, it will make your view dependent on the service. It's a matter of separation of responsabilities. If you use MVP, among other things, you will be able to do TDD against the presenter using a mock view (a view that mimic the functionallity of the smartpart but is not a usercontrol).