Presentation Layer Toolsets and CAB

Topics: CAB & Smart Client Software Factory
Mar 23, 2006 at 12:29 AM
originally posted by: Brujah

Hello all,

First let me state that I’m new to CAB and .net development, so please forgive me if this seems a little naïve.

I have been looking into CAB and think that it would be ideally suited to a small project that I have coming up. I have also been looking at presentation layer toolkits, namely Infragistics NetAdvantage 2006 and ComponentOne Studio for .NET to use with this (and future) projects.

Now the Infragistics toolset makes a big play about having a CAB Extensibility Kit making it easy to work with the CAB framework. This leads me to question if there is any difficulty in combining other toolsets with CAB. ComponentOne Studio has some extra components that would be very useful but if it dose not play nicely with CAB or is tricky to use, etc then…

Does anyone have any opinions on this subject?

Thanks for your time.
Mar 23, 2006 at 2:06 PM
originally posted by: puy0

Very good question...
I'm asking myself the same one...
But more about DevExpress suite...

After (rapidly) giving a look to "Infragistics.CompositeUI.WinForms", it doesnt looks like to me so easy to implement.
But maybe i'll must do it or i will not benefit of CAB facilities.

Anyone else?
Mar 24, 2006 at 5:08 AM
originally posted by: matiaswoloski

CAB has many features: the EventBroker, the concept of a WorkItem, SmartParts, Services, and more. These can be used without implementing the toolset for CAB.
Then you have the UI part and I will separate it in 3 topics:
- UI Elements/UI Extension Sites
- Commands/CommandHandlers
- Workspaces

UI Elements/UI Extension Sites