Hardcoded workspace name in module?

Topics: CAB & Smart Client Software Factory
Jan 6, 2006 at 4:21 AM
originally posted by: _JERKER_

(I've tried to find information on this all over the message board but could not find any answer. Sorry if I'm wrong...)

In the Walkthrough QuickStart, in the MyModuleInit's Load method, the shell application's workspace is referenced by hardcoding its name. Is there another way of referencing the workspaces from an module?

From my point of view, a module is something independent, making it possible to reuse in many places. By hardcoding the workspace name, I force all the applications to name its workspace the same way. Am I right, or have I misunderstood something?

I'm new to CAB, and there is probably a solution for this!?

Best regards
Jerker
Jan 6, 2006 at 7:35 AM
originally posted by: BradWilsonMSFT

It's probably fairly common to take such "magic names" and put them in constants in a globally accessable place.
Feb 9, 2006 at 1:28 AM
originally posted by: morfy

This is a question i'm looking an answer for too.

How about modules ? Those clearly shold be reusable outside the project they are created or no ?
All the samples use hardcoded values for the workspace identifier in the Load override. Should the workspace name be injected to a property or another way to accomplish this (yes the names will be constants hopefully somewhere) ? But again i guess this would mean that the module could only be used in one workspace/application (can't tell a real world example of this, so i might be chasing a what if then else what if else then ...).
Feb 9, 2006 at 5:05 AM
originally posted by: DLorenz