Smartpart Placeholder vs WorkItem isolation

Topics: CAB & Smart Client Software Factory
Mar 30, 2006 at 9:55 AM
originally posted by: turmelma

Hello,

I am trying to figure out how to design my WorkItems now that I have found that SmartPartPlaceHolder requires the SmartPart to be held by the same WorkItem as the view where the PlaceHolder is found.

I've been building a CAB module which displays several views for various business entities relevant to the module (customers, invoices, etc.).
Each set of view(s) is currently encapsulated in a workitem so it can be reused eventually in other modules. So I got a CustomerWorkItem, InvoiceHistoryWorkItem, etc.
I have a kind of a "master" WorkItem that is run when the module is loaded. That workitem basically initializes some module-level services and launches child workitems for the default screen to be built up (i.e. by default the customer views are available from the start, so I run the CustomerWorkItem)

Now I'd like to put the CustomerView in a smartpart placeholder on my main workspace, which is a DockWorkspace (from Infragistics). Previously I coded a Show method on my "child" workitems (like CustomerWorkItem) to which I would pass the workspace on which to show smartparts. It seemed a good practice, I saw it widely used in community samples. That had the only disadvantage to let the workspace control where the smartpart is shown in it.

Then I tried using the place holder. Now I would have to do this kind of code in my CustomerWorkItem:

Parent.SmartParts.AddNew<CustomerView>("CustomerView");

Which I feel is not a good practice, as it implies now that my CustomerWorkItem has a parent that would make use of the view. Moreover, my presenter would not be linked to the CustomerWorkItem anymore but to its parent, whatever it be.

I'd like to get some design tips and advice here.