Debuging EventTopicExceptions

Topics: CAB & Smart Client Software Factory
Mar 4, 2006 at 1:39 PM
originally posted by: samkuehn

When I have a method that subscribes to and Event/StateChanged and that method throws an exception I get back an EventTopicException informing me what event fired caused the exception but I am having a difficult time tracking do the offending method. I have some events that are subscribed to by 20 methods or so. This makes debugging very difficult. Do you have any hints, tips or tricks for doing debugging. Is there a way to wrap these method body in a try/catch block where the debugger will inside the actual method? Is there some place that I cannot find in the exception that will give me the information? I have been wasting a lot of time tracking down uncaught null reference exceptions and such.

Thanks guys!
Mar 29, 2006 at 2:16 AM
originally posted by: DingDongLars

Hi

This post has been on the thread for a while. As I am also very interested in a reply I post this to if somebody reacts :-)

Sorry Sam, I hope you are not too disappointed that this is not the reply you are waiting for

Lars
Mar 29, 2006 at 4:13 AM
originally posted by: DLorenz

Try
Catch ex As Microsoft.Practices.CompositeUI.EventBroker.EventTopicException
Dim msgs As String = String.Empty
For Each msg As Exception In ex.Exceptions
msgs &= msg.Message & Environment.NewLine
Next
Dim temp As Exception = ex
msgs &= Environment.NewLine
While temp IsNot Nothing
msgs &= ex.Message & Environment.NewLine
temp = ex.InnerException
End While
msgs &= Environment.NewLine
For Each msg As Exception In ex.Exceptions
msgs &= msg.ToString & Environment.NewLine
Next
MessageBox.Show(msgs)
Catch ex As Exception
Dim msgs As String = String.Empty
Dim temp As Exception = ex
While temp IsNot Nothing
msgs &= ex.Message & Environment.NewLine
temp = ex.InnerException
End While
MessageBox.Show(msgs)
End Try

Hope this helps.
Mar 29, 2006 at 4:45 AM