Help please

Topics: CAB & Smart Client Software Factory
Jan 6, 2006 at 9:34 AM
originally posted by: ForeignerCR

Hi and thanks a lot in advance.
I've read through this board for a while but haven't found exactly what I need, and unfortunately I'm running against the time, so, I apologize if this has already been covered.

This is a very simplified version of my scenario:

Imagine an app with 1 listbox on the left and a space on the right to display a workitem. The listbox is actually a sort of "menu", so, the workitem to be displayed on the right depends on the selected item of the listbox. It may be a "Custom Info" view, or a "Product Info", etc.
The quickstarts shows well how to do it when the view on the right side is always a "Custom Info o Details", but I need to load heterogeneous views depending on the selected item on the left.

I'm pretty new to the CAB, so I'm seriously confused about the architectural concepts. I have my app already using the cab, derived from the BankTeller quickstart. But now I'm facing the problem that the Views on the right are not of the same type all the time. My team of developers will be working on different apps, comprised each by many Views. They must all be able to show integrate and show withing the main Shell. Every developer will have their own projects for their application.

Looking at the module loader and the ProfileCatalog mechanism I'm guessing it's what I should use, but I'm not sure. And I'm worried about loading all the modules at the start since this is gonna be a huge application.

I'd really appreciate any help and guidance. As I said, I running out of time to have a prototype running.

Thank you.
F.
Jan 8, 2006 at 7:26 PM
originally posted by: jburtch

How are you loading the list on the left? Rather than wait for a response, I'll assume it is data driven (either by XML file or database) and you have some object in CAB (either a workitem, view, or controller/presenter) responsible for the population.