Constructive critique, I hope...

Topics: CAB & Smart Client Software Factory
Jan 5, 2006 at 12:54 AM
originally posted by: _JERKER_

I'm in the position of getting to know CAB for use in a Windows Application (the first of many in the future?). I'm completely new to CAB. How do I make a decision to start using it in the first place?

I've had for about a month to study the community, sample code, message board dialogs and finally the documentation for finding the information I need. Still I'm having trouble guiding the other project members. Why must this be so hard to get into? Why inventing new terms on existing concepts?

Examples of bad-choise-of-terms:
× "Composite" - of what? (Why not "Windows Forms Application Block"?)
× "Smart Client" - might not be that smart after all. The first two weeks of the studying of CAB I had to think "this pattern is not for Smart Devices". This is what the other project members need to do today, too...
× "SmartPart" - why not just call it "WinPart" as all others do!? Or, just something less smart...?
× Using the glossary in the documentation does not explain the concepts, rather how the terms are associated to each other.

There must be a more pedagogic way of transferring this knowledge!? I believe that Microsoft usually is very good at transferring this kind of information to their developer customers. Am I the only one having these thoughts?

I'm positive that I will be impressed by CAB in the real life, but there are things that can be better in communicating the knowledge of using it.

Best regards
Jerker
Jan 18, 2006 at 2:39 PM
originally posted by: syalachigere

I am in the same situation. I spent most of my holidays to learn CAB. Tomorrow I have to teach this to my other teammates. I've written a sample prototype application but still I am not that comfortable. ‘Hands on lab’ helped me a bit but this CAB is still very confusing.
Jan 20, 2006 at 4:37 PM
originally posted by: rxd9507