Disconnected Service Agent Callbacks

Topics: Mobile Client Software Factory
May 30, 2007 at 12:03 AM
Edited May 30, 2007 at 12:05 AM
First of all, I have only been using the mobile client factory for about a month, and so far very impressed !(though a bit of a learning curve).

I have a bit of an issue(confusion) with the DSA callbacks though. I would like to do something besides raise a message box. I would actually like to update my database with the values returned from the web service call. I could easily create a database object and do this, however I was wondering if there was any way to access objects in the class that made the original call to the disconnected service agent.

Particularly, I have a controller that has access to one of my repositories. I would like to use that repository if possible. I am still new to CAB, so apologies if my explanation is not on point.

Any help is appreciated.
May 30, 2007 at 3:35 PM
You could register the repository as a service and use it in the presenter or controller that handles the Callback return event.
I hope this helps.
Vlad
May 30, 2007 at 5:19 PM
valdhorby, thank you for your reply.

I currently handle the callback return event in the callback method created by the DAS. I attempted to handle the callback in my controller that originally made the call, however the event doesn't fire (getting a file not found error).

I did try to register the repository as a service, however did not seem to be able to access it from my call back event. Ideally I would like the callback event handler to be able to send an event to the controller that called it.

Thanks for your help.
May 30, 2007 at 7:03 PM
Did you check the Disconnected ServiceAgent QuickStart solution?
It contains an example of just that: the presenter registers its event handlers to the events exposed by the Callback class (Restaurants.Module).
May 31, 2007 at 4:24 PM
Hey vladhorby,

Thanks again for your reply.